Neue Seite 1










LOCATION: Hungary is a state of central Europe, which occupies a part of the basin of Carpathians. Hungary borders on the north on Slovakia, on the east on Ukraine and Rumania, on the south on Serbia and Croatia and on the west on Slovenia and Austria.

CAPITAL: Budapest.

LANGUAGE: Official language of Hungary is the Hungarian language, which belongs to the fino-hungarian group of Uralian linguistic family. It has similarities with the Finnish and the Estonian.


RELIGION: There is no official religion in Hungary, but the main majority is Christians from whom the 62,4 % are Catholics and the23,4 % Protestants.


COIN: Florin.

POPULATION: The area of Hungary is 93.033 sq km. The inhabitants of Hungary are around 10.000.000.

HISTORY: Around the 500b C Illyrians and Thracians were installed to the grounds that would later constitute Hungary. After them came Scythes and Celts and finally Romans, who during the 1st century a C conquered the countries above Danube. In 271 Rome was forced to abandon the region to Ostrogoths. After them other tribes invaded successively in the region. During the 9th century came from the east a tribe of phino-hungarian origin, the Hungarians or Magyars. Hungarians were installed successively in Cuban and Dneipero. They were divided in seven tribes from which the most important were Magyars who were installed in the North Sea, in the south France, in the Aegean and in the countries of the Byzantine Empire. They made a lot of wars against the Germans but finally they reconciled with them. During the reign of Stefanís the 1st (997-1038) they became Christians. In 1310 a foreign dynasty from Italy was installed in the country under the sway of which the country recovered. At that time Hungary entered into an alliance with other countries of the west and made a lot of wars against the Turks by whom it was finally conquered in 1526. It was divided then in two parts, the south was taken by Suleiman, the magnificent and the rest by Austria. With the alliance of Carlovits in 1669 Austria took under its possession the Turkish part of Hungary as well. The Austrian domination endured until 1866, when Hungary became autonomous after the defeat of Austria in the war against Prussia. After that Hungary and Austria formed the dual monarchy of Hapsburgs. After the 1st world war the country was renounced as democracy (1918). After the failure of the communist movement of Bella Coun, the power was taken by the Hapsburgs (1919) but with the claim of Adad the later abandoned Hungary. During the 2nd world war Hungary sided with Hitler in the war against Russia. In 1942 the monarchy was abolished and from 1947 onwards the country became socialistic democracy. After that Hungary and Russia cooperated closely. In the summer of 1968 the cooperation took the form of participation of Hungary in the military operations for the conquest of Czechoslovakia. After the last political and constitutional changes in all the states of East Europe, Hungary proceeded to decisive reforms.

top of page




This project is being carried out with the support of the European Community in the framework of the Socrates programme. The content of this project does not necessarily reflect the position of the European Community, nor does it involve any responsibility on the part of the European Community. For questions and contact:
Latest update of this page: 2005-06-28 
Webdesign: Anton J. Posch