Neue Seite 1




Czech Republic






LOCATION: Czech Republic borders on the east on Slovakia, on the south on Austria, on the southwest and northwest on Germany and on the south on Poland.


LANGUAGE: It is a western Slav language which is closely connected with the Slovakian, the Polish and the soravian languages of East Germany. It is spoken in the regions of Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia in the western Czechoslovakia, where it is the formal language. The Czech uses the Latin alphabet. Some of the characteristics of the Czech language are that it has the distinction between long and short vowels. The accent is placed in the first syllable of the words or prepositional phrases. The vowels are one phoneme. The modern language has seven declensions of nouns, two numbers, three persons of the verb, three tenses (present, future and past), two voices and three moods. The completed action is differentiated from the incomplete action morphologically. There are several dialects but the central dialect is that of Prague, which is the base of the written Czech language.


POPULATION: In 1991 Czech Republic had 10.298.731 inhabitants.

HISTORY: The Czech Republic was established in the 1st of January 1993 after the partition of Czechoslovakian confederacy. Customs guardhouse reared along the Czecho-slovakian borders and some cases of nationalistic tension occurred from both sides of the frontier line.

top of page




This project is being carried out with the support of the European Community in the framework of the Socrates programme. The content of this project does not necessarily reflect the position of the European Community, nor does it involve any responsibility on the part of the European Community. For questions and contact:
Latest update of this page: 2005-06-28 
Webdesign: Anton J. Posch